Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Kasanka Bat Migration: Home

Heading to Kasanka to catch the annual bat migration? Check out some of the videos and other content on this guide for some background before you go.

Short Videos to Learn About the Bat Migration in Kasanka

Selected Books from the AISL Library About Bats

DK Readers L1: All about Bats

Fly through the spectacular, nocturnal world of bats with All About Bats. From leathery wings to echolocation, this nonfiction reader is an exciting look at these creatures of the night, and includes fantastic photography that will amaze kids as they read. Perfect for 3-5 year olds learning to read, Level 1 titles contain short, simple sentences with an emphasis on frequently used words. Crisp photographic images with labels provide visual clues to introduce and reinforce vocabulary. Trusted by parents, teachers, and librarians, and loved by kids, DK's leveled reading series is now revised and updated. With shiny new jackets and brand-new nonfiction narrative content on the topics kids love, each book is written and reviewed by literacy experts, and contains a glossary and index, making them the perfect choice for helping develop strong reading habits for kids ages 3-11.

The Bat Scientists

Dr. Merlin Tuttle and his colleagues at Bat Conservation International aren't scared of bats. These bat crusaders are fascinated by them, with good reason. Bats fly the night skies in nearly every part of the world, but they are the least studied of all mammals. As the major predator of night-flying insects, bats eat many pests. Unfortunately bats are facing many problems, including a terrifying new disease. White-nose Syndrome is infecting and killing millions of hibernating bats in North America. But Dr. Tuttle, with the help of his fellow bat scientists are in the trenches--and caves--on the front line of the fight to save their beloved bats.

Bats

They live in spooky caves, in forests, even in the dark reaches of ordinary attics and bridges. They flock by the hundreds, and they sleep while hanging upside down! In this beautifully photographed Level 2 reader, kids learn about one of the most interesting creatures around--and discover the bat's unique place in the wild and in the world. The high-interest topic, expertly written text, and bonus learning activity lay the groundwork for a successful and rewarding reading experience. National Geographic supports K-12 educators with ELA Common Core Resources. Visit www.natgeoed.org/commoncore for more information.

The Bat's Cave

Visit an eerie underground city in a dark cave! Large colonies of bats live together in caves for warmth and protection. There may be up to 20 million bats roosting in just one cave! Not all bats live in caves, however; each of the many bat species worldwide has adapted to the unique challenges of its environment and lives in a special home. Jaw-dropping photos, a habitat map, and fascinating information will captivate young readers as they learn about these truly spectacular animal towns.

A Place for Bats

This fact-filled, colorful look at the amazing world of bats includes a call to action to protect these creatures and their habitats. In simple yet informative language, A Place for Bats introduces young readers to the ways human action or inaction can affect bat populations and opens kids' minds to a wide range of environmental issues. Describing various examples, the text provides an intriguing look at bats, at the ecosystems that support their survival, and at the efforts of some people to save them. At the end of the book, the author offers readers a list of things they can do to help protect these special creatures in their own communities.

Nightsong

Sense is the song you sing out into the world, and the song the world sings back to you.      With these words, Chiro's mother sends him off into the night for the first time alone. It's an adventure, but how will he find his way? And how will he find his way home? As the young bat discovers, navigating the world around him is easy as long as he uses his good sense.      This beautiful and touching coming-of-age story, with mesmerizing artwork from New York Times bestselling illustrator Loren Long and lyrical text from Ari Berk, conveys a heartwarming and universal message: No matter how far away you go, you can always find your way home.

Stellaluna

While out searching for food, fruit bat Stellaluna and her mother are attacked by a vicious owl. Stellaluna is separated from Mother Bat and taken in by a family of birds where she must put aside her bat habits to fit in with her new family. But one fateful flight when she is separated from her adoptive siblings, Stellaluna is reunited with her bat family and learns that even though we're different, we're very much the same.

Articles of Interest

Pebble Go Database for Young Researchers

Pebble Go is a database for emergent & young researchers (roughly K-2). The log-in details are on the main page of the Primary Virtual Library. Click on the image below to go to this database & enter log-in details. You will need to be in the "animals" section of the database.

Accommodation